I feel as though I should be sitting in the principal’s office or detention at the very least.  I am two assignments behind on Blogging University – Blogging 101, or is it three now?  Ugh!  Finding myself behind in the first week doesn’t sit well with me because I truly hate the feeling that I am not on top of things, that I am essentially “lost”.

Truth is, even though I started my blog a little over a year ago and have some posts under my belt, there are many times I feel like I don’t know what I am doing.  That is precisely the reason I signed up for Blogging 101.  Trying to learn how to add different options, widgets or whatever to my blog or change my theme made me realize I am not as tech savvy as I thought I was.  It’s a little depressing and intimidating but again, the reason I am taking Blogging 101.

I am pretty sure my writing style and subject matter could use a little tweaking as well…mostly because I feel that my posts are becoming redundant. I seem to be regurgitating the same message rant over and over when there are so many more topics related to living with a chronic illness I want to write about. Focus!  This is something I’m trying to work on!  Let me explain what I mean by focus.  I can be writing a post about one thing and while I’m in the thick of it, go off on a tangent and think to myself, that could be a post by itself!  It’s like I have the focus of a squirrel trying to cross a busy street!

IMG_1469.JPG

This blog started as a sort of therapy for me, much like writing in a journal, but I wasn’t happy to just write my thoughts down.  I mean what good was it really doing if I wasn’t sharing my thoughts and experiences with others like me?  I want to share my successes and failures while living with chronic pain.  I want to share the stuff no one wants to talk about with their friends or family because they feel ashamed or embarrassed to talk about it with someone who can’t possibly understand, yet they need to know someone understands them.  The truth is, others just don’t know what it is like to live life in slow motion, what it is like to have to make the decision to shower or make dinner because you can’t do both.  I know they don’t truly understand because I used to be one of those people before I had to walk the walk.  I may not be the most inspiring, positive or upbeat person but I truly understand what it is like to walk in a mile in your shoes!

5 thoughts on “Late Assignment – Blogging 101- About Me!

  1. Yes definitely continue with your blog 🙂 I think I find it extra hard to explain to other people what it’s like because I also get ‘foggy brain’ and combined with being ill from age 12, I can’t actually remember what it’s like to be without pain. Thanks for making me feel less alone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect timing indeed! Your comment gave me much needed confirmation that I should continue with my blog! I started writing to reach other “spoonies”, to let them know that they are not alone in their life of limited spoons. It can be incredibily difficult trying to explain how we are feeling to those in our lives. Like you said, even if they are trying to understand, there is really no way they truly understand what it’s like for us.
    Thank you again for your kind words and I wish you all the best!

    Like

  3. I found this post by clicking on random posts under the tag Blogging 101. I love this post. I’ve been living with chronic pain since I was 12 (I am 22 now). I know what it’s like to live with limited spoons too. And I always like finding someone that understands, as I feel like most people in my life don’t understand even when they try. I’ve had a rough few days. So thank you for reminding me I’m not alone. It was perfect timing.

    Like

Tell Me Your Thoughts...

